allow is a form of rendered fat, classically made from beef, although technically any animal could be used as a source. Vegetarian versions made from plants such as the tallow tree are also available, although the composition of plant-based fats is slightly different from the traditional form. There are a number of uses for tallow, making it a product in consistent demand.