. AN ALPHABETICAL DEFINITION GUIDE
An alphabetical list of Halal and Haram ingredients to look out for:
Bacon: A side of pig meat (pork).
Choletsorol: type of fat always of animal origin. If extracted from Zabiha animal, it is Halal.
Diglyceride: Emulsifier. If of animal origin it should be suspected till the source is known.
Gelatin (Jello Gelatin): Usually of animal origin, mostly from pig. If extracted from a dhabiha animal, then it is halal/
Glycerol (Glycerine): It could be of animal, plant or Glyceryl-Stearate synthetic origin. If animal source is used, it is suspected.
Hormones: Usually animal hormones are used for human consumption. One has to find out the source before passing a judgement.
Lard: Fat from swine particulaly found in the abdominal cavity. Totally Haram for us.
Magnesium Stearate (stearic acid): Used as an active ingredient in medicine tablets. Haram when derived from animal source.
Mono Glycerides: When derived from animal source. (Halal when the source is plant).
Pepsin: A digestive enzyme mostly from pig stomach.