Designed by Toronto architects Frank Darling and John A. Pearson,[19] the architectural style of the original building is Italianate Neo-Romanesque, popular throughout North America until the 1870s. The structure is heavily massed and punctuated by rounded and segmented arched windows with heavy surrounds and hood mouldings. Other features include applied decorative eave brackets, quoinsand cornices.
The eastern wing facing Queen's Park was designed by Alfred H. Chapman and James Oxley. Opened in 1933, it included the museum's elaborate art deco, Byzantine-inspired rotunda and a new main entrance. The linking wing and rear (west) façade of the Queen's Park wing were originally done in the same yellow brick as the 1914 building, with minor Italianate detailing. However, the Queen's Park facade of the expansion broke from the heavy Italianate style of the original structure. It was built in a neo-Byzantine style with rusticated stone, triple windows contained within recessed arches, and different-coloured stone arranged into a variety of patterns. This development from the Roman-inspired Italianate to a Byzantine influenced style reflected the historical development of Byzantine architecture from Roman architecture. Common among neo-Byzantine buildings in North America, the facade also contains elements of Gothic Revival in its relief carvings, gargoyles and statues. The ornate ceiling of the rotunda is covered predominantly in gold back-painted glass mosaic tiles, with coloured mosaic geometric patterns and images of real and mythical animals.
Writing in the Journal of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada in 1933, A. S. Mathers said of the expansion: "The interior of the building is a surprise and a pleasant one; the somewhat complicated ornament of the façade is forgotten and a plan on the grand manner unfolds itself. It is simple, direct and big in scale. One is convinced that the early Beaux Arts training of the designer has not been in vain. The outstanding feature of the interior is the glass mosaic ceiling of the entrance rotunda. It is executed in colours and gold, and strikes a fine note in the one part of the building which the architect could decorate without conflicting with the exhibits."
The original building and the 1933 expansion have been listed as heritage buildings of Toronto since 1973. In 2005, a major renovation of the heritage wings saw the galleries made larger, windows uncovered, and the original early-20th-century architecture made more prominent. The exteriors of the heritage buildings were cleaned and restored. The restoration of the 1914 and 1933 buildings was the largest heritage project underway in Canada. The renovation also included the newly restored Rotunda with reproductions of the original oak doors, a restored axial view from the Rotunda west through to windows onto Philosophers' Walk, and ten renovated galleries comprising a total of 90,000 square feet (8,000 m2).
In the master plan designed by Darling and Pearson in 1909, the ROM took a form similar to that of J.N.L. Durand's ideal model of the museum (published in the early 19th century). It was envisioned as a square plan with corridors running through the centre of the composition, converging in the middle with a domed rotunda. Overall, it referenced the upper-class palaces of the 17th and 18th centuries, and aimed at having a strong sense of monumentality. All the architectural elements—the deep cornice, decorative top, eave brackets—add to this strength that the ROM possessed, as it was purely a structure with the function of collecting, but not for exhibiting.
ออกแบบโดยสถาปนิก Frank ที่รักและ John A . โตรอนโตเพียร์สัน , [ 19 ] รูปแบบสถาปัตยกรรมของอาคารเดิมเป็นนีโอโรมาเนสก์แบบอิตาลีที่นิยมทั่วทวีปอเมริกาเหนือจนถึงคริสต์ทศวรรษ 1850 . โครงสร้างเป็นหนัก massed punctuated โดยแบ่งและโค้งมนและโค้งหน้าต่างล้อมรอบหนักและเครื่องดูดควันในห้อง . คุณสมบัติอื่น ๆรวมถึงการใช้วงเล็บชายคาตกแต่งquoinsand cornices .
ปีกตะวันออก ซึ่งควีนปาร์คถูกออกแบบโดยอัลเฟรดเอช แชปแมน และเจมส์ อ๊อกเล่ . เปิดใน 1933 , มันรวมของพิพิธภัณฑ์ที่ซับซ้อน Art Deco , ไบเซนไทน์แรงบันดาลใจ Rotunda และทางเข้าหลักใหม่ การเชื่อมโยงและปีกด้านหลัง ( ทิศตะวันตก ) รวมถึง เอฟเอ ADE ของควีน ปาร์ควิง เดิมทีทำในสีเหลืองเดียวกับ 1914 ตึกกับผู้เยาว์อิตาเลียนรายละเอียด อย่างไรก็ตามควีนส์ปาร์ค ซุ้มของการทำลายจากหนักอิตาเลียนสไตล์ของโครงสร้างเดิม มันถูกสร้างขึ้นในสไตล์นีโอไบแซนไทน์ rusticated หิน , หน้าต่างสามที่มีอยู่ภายในโค้งปิดภาคเรียนและหินสีต่าง ๆจัดในหลากหลายรูปแบบนี้พัฒนามาจากโรมันแรงบันดาลใจอิตาเลียน เพื่อสะท้อนให้เห็นถึงสไตล์ไบเซนไทน์ที่ได้รับอิทธิพลจากสถาปัตยกรรมประวัติศาสตร์การพัฒนาของสถาปัตยกรรมไบแซนไทน์โรมัน อาคารทั่วไปในหมู่นีโอไบแซนไทน์ในทวีปอเมริกาเหนือ , ซุ้มยังมีองค์ประกอบของกอธิคฟื้นฟูในการบรรเทาแกะสลัก , gargoyles และรูปปั้นเพดานหรูหราของ Rotunda ครอบคลุมส่วนใหญ่ในแก้วกระเบื้องโมเสคทองกลับมาวาดด้วยลวดลายเรขาคณิตและสีกระเบื้องโมเสคภาพสัตว์จริงและจำลอง
เขียนในวารสารราชบัณฑิตยสถานสถาปัตยกรรมสถาบันของแคนาดาใน 1933 , A . S . การกล่าวของการขยายตัว : " ภายในอาคารเป็นเซอร์ไพรส์ และ รื่นรมย์ ;ค่อนข้างซับซ้อนเครื่องประดับของเอฟเอ ADE ทาถูกลืมและแผนในลักษณะแกรนด์แผ่ออกไปเอง มันเป็นเรื่องง่ายโดยและขนาดใหญ่ในขนาด หนึ่งเชื่อว่าการฝึกอบรมศิลปะหัตถกรรมแรกของนักออกแบบที่ได้รับในการเรียน คุณสมบัติที่โดดเด่นของการตกแต่งภายในเป็นแก้วโมเสกเพดานทางเข้า Rotunda . มันคือประหารชีวิตในทองสีและและนัดทราบดีในส่วนหนึ่งของอาคารที่สถาปนิกตกแต่งโดยไม่ขัดแย้งกับนิทรรศการ "
อาคารเดิมและ 1933 การได้รับการจดทะเบียนเป็นมรดกอาคารโตรอนโตตั้งแต่ 1973 ในปี 2005 , การปรับปรุงที่สำคัญของมรดกปีกเห็นหน้าต่างเปิด , แกลลอรี่ให้ใหญ่ขึ้นและสถาปัตยกรรม early-20th-century เดิมให้โดดเด่นมากขึ้น แบรนด์ของมรดกอาคารที่ถูกทำความสะอาดและบูรณะ การฟื้นฟูของ 1914 1933 อาคารที่ใหญ่ที่สุดและเป็นมรดกโครงการดำเนินการในแคนาดา การปรับปรุงยังรวมถึงการบูรณะใหม่ Rotunda กับภาพประตูไม้โอ๊คเดิมเรียกคืนภาพมุมมองจาก Rotunda ตะวันตกผ่าน Windows บนของปราชญ์เดิน สิบ และตกแต่งแกลลอรี่ประกอบด้วยรวม 90 , 000 ตารางฟุต ( 8 ตารางเมตร )
ในแผนการออกแบบโดยที่รักและเพียร์สัน นอกจากนี้ รอมเอารูปแบบคล้ายกับที่ของ j.n.l. ดูแรนด์เหมาะรูปแบบของพิพิธภัณฑ์ ( ตีพิมพ์ในศตวรรษที่ 19 ต้น )มันเป็นวิสัยทัศน์ของการเป็นแผนตารางกับทางเดินที่วิ่งผ่าน ศูนย์ ของ องค์ประกอบ มาบรรจบกันตรงกลางกับ Rotunda โดม . โดยรวม , มันคือบนเรียนของพระราชวังศตวรรษที่ 17 และ 18 และมุ่งให้ความรู้สึกยิ่งใหญ่ . ทุกองค์ประกอบทางลึกบัวด้านบนตกแต่งเชิงชายวงเล็บเพิ่มความแข็งแรงนี้ว่า รอมที่สิง มันเป็นอย่างหมดจดเป็นโครงสร้างที่มีหน้าที่เก็บ แต่ไม่แสดง .
การแปล กรุณารอสักครู่..
