In 1448, King Borommatrailokanat ordered a temple to be built to use as his private chapel. No monks resided here, but the wat was used for royal ceremonies and rituals including giving alms to the monks from the other Ayutthaya temples. Following the death of King Borommatrailokanat, two pagodas were constructed one of which would hold the remains of the late king. A third pagoda was added later with all three pagodas being used to hold the remains of various kings of Ayutthaya. In subsequent years a number of smaller chedis were also built to hold the ashes of other members of royalty.